View New Posts
  1. #1

    Default Sportsbook.com reported to be under "new ownership"

    The world on the street in Costa Rica is that Sportsbook.com has been sold.

    There's been no word of to whom or what will happen next.
    After laying off half of their staff and having stopped taking US play in April, we are very concerned.

    If you have a sportsbook.com, playersonly.com or superbook.com account, we recommend playing it safe and pulling your funds out now.Their CS line is 1-800-632-6088.

    You can always reload for football if things seem okay. (Demand a reload bonus!)

    IndustryAlert was started recently by a handful of players who got screwed over by BetEd, Action Poker/UB, FullTilt and PokerStars. When any of our players from around the world get word of impending doom, we alert this network.

    Industry Alert
    Calle 11
    San Jose
    Costa Rica

    Take out all funds??
    3027pts

    TOP SPORTSBOOK
    WINNER
    05/06/2012


  2. #2

    Default

    Sounds like a real credible source.

    No one got screwed over by Pokerstars. How the hell would anyone with a clue put them in the same group with BetED, FTP, and UB?

    FWIW, I'd put zero stock in that "report" unless it's corroborated by a reliable source.
    Last edited by John Dough; 07-05-11 at 09:47 PM.

    SBR Founder Join Date: 9/21/2005


  3. #3

    Default

    Has to be a phishing scam. "Action Poker"? ROFL.

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tomcowley View Post
    Has to be a phishing scam. "Action Poker"? ROFL.
    LOL, I missed that, good catch.

    Mods might as well delete this thread, total joke.

    SBR Founder Join Date: 9/21/2005


  5. #5

    Default

    Just stating an email I received
    3027pts

    TOP SPORTSBOOK
    WINNER
    05/06/2012


  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnnyD4916 View Post
    Just stating an email I received
    Understood. We're just pointing out why we feel it should be considered unreliable and ignored.

    SBR Founder Join Date: 9/21/2005


  7. #7

    Default

    I think someone else reported an email very similar to this one 2 days ago. Scam if you ask me
    175 pts

    3-QUESTION
    SBR TRIVIA WINNER 05/21/2012


  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnnyD4916 View Post
    The world on the street in Costa Rica is that Sportsbook.com has been sold.

    There's been no word of to whom or what will happen next.
    After laying off half of their staff and having stopped taking US play in April, we are very concerned.

    If you have a sportsbook.com, playersonly.com or superbook.com account, we recommend playing it safe and pulling your funds out now.Their CS line is 1-800-632-6088.

    You can always reload for football if things seem okay. (Demand a reload bonus!)

    IndustryAlert was started recently by a handful of players who got screwed over by BetEd, Action Poker/UB, FullTilt and PokerStars. When any of our players from around the world get word of impending doom, we alert this network.

    Industry Alert
    Calle 11
    San Jose
    Costa Rica

    Take out all funds??
    what about linesmaker.com, betusa.com & the rest on their group list?

  9. #9

    Default

    I spoke to my guys there at sports.com Yes it is true that ownership is in the process of changing hands but it is not a done deal as of yet. Sports.com may get sold to the new owners as well. They say these guys are cash rich so there is no liquidity issues. This could be a good thing depending who the new owners are of course

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by runner5k View Post
    I think someone else reported an email very similar to this one 2 days ago. Scam if you ask me
    Yup, that was me. I never called the number or replied to the email... or even clicked the link to "cancel" further emails. Seems a bit shady to me. Don't know where they got my stuff if they are real.

  11. #11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by IndustryAlert View Post
    Not a scam. Just some p*ssed off, beer-fueled guys in CR, UK and elsewhere with their ear to the ground. SBR is good for lots of rumours and stuff, but we wanted to make a more specific hotline kind of thing with facebook and twitter and all that social shite. Hence industryalert dot org. Just finding our feet (and stubbing our toes, ouch on AB/UB, duh, that's the beer talking).

    We don't compete with SBR; we take no advertising, it's not a public forum. It's a free service, you're welcome to join, or not.

    Thanks. JP.
    At least you've realized you should probably sober up before composing your next e-mail. It's hard enough to take any random new source seriously, but when you say Pokerstars screwed people over like BetEd and call Absolute Poker "Action Poker" it makes it that much harder.

    SBR Founder Join Date: 9/21/2005


  12. #12

    Default

    So will they kick all US customers out or what?
    175 pts

    3-QUESTION
    SBR TRIVIA WINNER 05/31/2012


  13. #13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LordVodka View Post
    So will they kick all US customers out or what?
    Given that we don't even know if the book(s) are actually changing ownership, no one can answer that for you. Let's not jump to wild speculation.

    SBR Founder Join Date: 9/21/2005


  14. #14

  15. #15

    Default

    I got the email too, will wait and see what happens

  16. #16

  17. #17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KilltheBitch View Post
    Database stealers no doubt
    I was kinda wondering how these SBR posters wound up on an e-mail list from a site that no one has ever heard of. Your explanation seems reasonable.

    SBR Founder Join Date: 9/21/2005


  18. #18

  19. #19

    Default

    The world on the street in Costa Rica is that Sportsbook.com has been sold

    Should be 'The word' instead? What a joke.

  20. #20

    Default

    Curious who's e-mail list they "acquired". Not BetEd.

  21. #21

    Default

    probably the same guys who stole for EZ Street as I never did business with them, yet I get emails from them...

  22. #22

  23. #23

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by brandonrev777 View Post
    wouldnt trust sportsbook.com ever
    This has absolutely nothing to do with this thread.

    SBR Founder Join Date: 9/21/2005


  24. #24

    Default

    hope they have been sold....might increase my limits!

  25. #25

    Default

    Nice touch with the mention of BetEd and others. It would be better if they sent these emails out before Books implode. Definitely a poorly disguised scam.

  26. #26

    Default

    Their main site, sportsbook.com, stiff a new player again..

  27. #27

    Default

    hahahha " the world on the street" just stellar OP

Top