View New Posts
  1. #1

    Default Email received : New program of sport statistics!!! - VIRUS??

    I got this email from sbr_forum@yahoo.com, also the sender attached a file : SBR_statistics.exe, 58996 bytes. Of course I did not open it , I think it's a keylogger. WARNING!

  2. #2

    Default

    Yes, got the same suspicious email. No way in hell I'd open an .exe attachment. How in the hell did someone get our email addresses? They aren't displayed publicly are they? Either it was someone on the 'inside' or someone hacked the forum. Or it is legit...but no way even think of opening it without someone official here saying it is a legit email and attachment.

  3. #3

    Default

    The email address SBR has of mine is one I never use and I got this email so this is from SBR or someone with their list..

    Funny thing is I can see all the email addresses that it was sent too..

    Weird stuff..

    SBR Founder Join Date: 11/16/2005


  4. #4

    Default

    I just checked and got it tooo... Deleted it right away... NEVER open an execute attachtment... Mods, whats up with the emails...

  5. #5

    Default

    As a precaution, if you did open it... you should scan your comp. now w/ your anti-virus...

  6. #6

    Default

    Just looked through the header and see this email is from Russia? I'd be surprised if this email was legit..

    SBR Founder Join Date: 11/16/2005


  7. #7

  8. #8

    Default

    I for sure will not open it, I will delete it right away. Thanks guys.

  9. #9

    Default

    I got the email as well. I'm wondering if it got sent to everyone or just to the people on the visible "To:" list.

  10. #10

    Default

    Yeah I'm wondering as well.. Someone definitely got ahold of SBRs email list..

    SBR Founder Join Date: 11/16/2005


  11. #11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by imgv94
    Yeah I'm wondering as well.. Someone definitely got ahold of SBRs email list..
    Probably...but not necessarily. Maybe we've all emailed someone on the site (like a mod) and that person's computer got compromised.

  12. #12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PeterWellington
    Probably...but not necessarily. Maybe we've all emailed someone on the site (like a mod) and that person's computer got compromised.
    No..
    The email address that SBR has (for me) is one I never ever use. No one has it that I know of other than SBR..

    I can promise you that this email came from someone within SBR or someone who got the list. 100%

    I've never emailed anyone with the email address used..
    Last edited by imgv94; 01-31-07 at 04:33 AM.

    SBR Founder Join Date: 11/16/2005


  13. #13

    Default

    I am anxious to see how many others received this because I have only PM one mod on this site.Also pm only one player so I think if not everyone on this site getting this e-mail,the search for this leak of addresses can be narrowed down.:

  14. #14

    Default

    MBENZ

    When someone registers here they are asked to give an email address..

    SBR Founder Join Date: 11/16/2005


  15. #15
    Ganchrow's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Join Date: 08-28-05
    Posts: 5,014
    SBR Points: 119
    Message Me

    Default

    There was a similar message ostensibly sent from forum.therx@yahoo.com.

    If you receive any message of this sort, just delete it.

    I'm assuming someone just harvested vBulletin vCard e-mail data.

    SBR Founder Join Date: 8/28/2005


  16. #16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by imgv94
    MBENZ

    When someone registers here they are asked to give an email address..
    ......I know that imgv,thats why I am saying that if everybody registered got that then it would appear that it would be an SBR issue.If everybody does'nt get it,somebody got the addresses somewhere else,correct?On another topic,you're streak will end and you'll be back in the saddle soon.HANG IN THERE!!

  17. #17

    Default

    I did not get it or it wnet to bulk mail and I did not see it.

    SBR Founder Join Date: 7/20/2005


  18. #18

  19. #19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Teddy_KGB
    I got this email from sbr_forum@yahoo.com, also the sender attached a file : SBR_statistics.exe, 58996 bytes. Of course I did not open it , I think it's a keylogger. WARNING!
    We are currently investigating this issue. Needless to say, we ask that any posters receiving such an email NOT open the attached file.

    SBR does not market to email lists ... never have, never will. Rest assured that SBR did not send these email attachments. We will however make every effort to find out what is going on and implement whatever solution(s) necessary to prevent this from happening again.

    Again, if you receive an email from SBR_FORUM@YAHOO.COM (or any other address) containing attachments with a ".EXE" extension, DO NOT OPEN.

    We will get to the bottom of this matter.

    SBR Founder Join Date: 8/1/2005


  20. #20

    Default

    Sean, can I ask what is your job here at SBR?

  21. #21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 707782
    Sean, can I ask what is your job here at SBR?
    VP/GM - SBR Marketing in Costa Rica

    SBR Founder Join Date: 8/1/2005


  22. #22

  23. #23

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 707782
    are you the sean1 from other forums?
    no sir

    SBR Founder Join Date: 8/1/2005


  24. #24

    Default

    that's good then, because that guy is full of shit.

    Thanks for your time, sir.

  25. #25
    Ganchrow's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Join Date: 08-28-05
    Posts: 5,014
    SBR Points: 119
    Message Me

    Default

    UPDATE ... WE'VE RECEIVED COPIES OF THE OFFENDING EMAIL ... NO NEED FOR ANYONE TO FORWARD ANOTHER. THANKS!

    Can anyone who has receibed this email forward the message in its entirety with COMPLETE MESSAGE HEADER info to sean@sbrmarketing.com and ganchrow@sbrforum.com?

    The easiest way to include all the headers when forwarding a message is just to send it as an attachment.


    Thanks,
    G.
    Last edited by Sean; 01-31-07 at 12:21 PM.

    SBR Founder Join Date: 8/28/2005


  26. #26

    Default Update

    SBR's servers were not compromised or hacked in any way, shape or form. What we do know is that a new forum "member" that signed up a couple of days ago is the originator of these emails. It appears that "he" gathered email addresses from all posters that were online at that particular time, using the "Download vCard" link in those members' public profiles. The offending "poster" has been permanently banned, "his" IP address(es) have been permanently banned, and we are currently addressing all possible ways to prevent this from happening again.

    In the meantime, forum members should be aware that they can keep their email addresses private by following these steps:

    1. Click on "User CP" at the top left of the page ... this will launch your User Control Panel.

    2. Click on "Edit Options" in the left-side navigation pane, under "Control Panel".

    3. Uncheck the box next to "Allow vCard Download" ... this will prevent others from seeing the email address you provided upon registration for SBR Forum.

    Again, as a reminder, SBR does not send unsolicited emails to our forum members (or any other email list). If you receive any emails that appear to have originated from an SBR-related email address or are otherwise disguised as an SBR-related communication, please do not open any attachments. And, please forward such emails, with the full message header, to me at sean@sbrmarketing.com.
    Last edited by Sean; 01-31-07 at 01:13 PM.

    SBR Founder Join Date: 8/1/2005


  27. #27

    Default

    SEAN,was it the same clown that posted in private talk?Noticed it did'nt take long to get rid of those 9 post for a new site.

  28. #28

    Default

    I feel left out. I never get these emails everybody talks about.

  29. #29

    Default

    Sean please tell us who it was, either on here or via PM.

    I'm curious to know who attempted to enter a Virus into my computer and my friends on here..

    BTW what kind of virus was it?

    SBR Founder Join Date: 11/16/2005


  30. #30
    Ganchrow's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Join Date: 08-28-05
    Posts: 5,014
    SBR Points: 119
    Message Me

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by imgv94
    Sean please tell us who it was, either on here or via PM.
    It wasn't anyone you'd know. (In other words, it was NOT tacomax.) In all likelihood the account was created automatically by some sort of bot that determined we were running vBulletin.

    SBR Founder Join Date: 8/28/2005


Top